Oh, the legalities of getting married. Let’s get the 411 on how to go about obtaining your Arkansas marriage license. You ready?
When Can You Apply for Your Marriage License
Most county clerk offices are open Monday – Friday 8:00am – 5:00pm. There is no wait time on your marriage license unless you are younger than 18.
We recommend calling your local county clerk office before arriving to confirm you do not need to make an appointment. Also, most offices will close an hour for lunch.
When Do You Need to Obtain Your License
You can apply for your license 60 days out from your wedding date. Marriage licenses are only valid for 60 days.
P.S. The number 60 is important because you’ll see that number throughout this blog!
Age of Marriage
By law, you must be 18 years or older to get married in the state of Arkansas without a legal guardians consent. If you are under 18 years of age, you must have a legal guardian present with you in order to obtain your marriage license.
And, in the extreme cases, if you are 16 or younger you must have court approval before you can marry in Arkansas.
Who Has to Be Present
Both you and your future spouse must be present. If you are younger than 18, you must also have your legal guardian present.
What Forms Do You Need
You will need to bring a valid government-photo ID showing your birth date and full name.
If you have been divorced or previous spouse has passed, you will need to bring the appropriate forms such as divorce decree or death certificate. If your last name does not match any forms, you will need to bring proof of any name changes as well.
How Much Does The License Cost
It costs $60 to obtain your license. We recommend bringing exact cash, but you can also pay by card (no checks accepted!). There are processing fees if you choose to pay by card.
When Do I Have to Bring My License Back
All marriage licenses must be returned within 60 days even if they are not used. If you do not return them, there is a $100 bond that is issued for both parties. You can either mail your marriage license in or return it in person.
Do You Have to be an Arkansas Resident
No, you do not have to be an Arkansas resident to get married in the state of Arkansas.
Which County Do I Have to Get My Marriage License
You do not have to obtain a marriage license in the county in which you are getting married. Arkansas marriage licenses are recognized county to county.
Note! If you are from out of state, you must obtain an Arkansas marriage license.
What About My Officiant
As long as your officiant is registered with a County Clerk Office in the state of Arkansas, you are good to go!
However, iff your officiant is not registered with a County Clerk Office, they will need to go to any County Clerk Office in Arkansas and bring their minister license or certificate along with $5 cash for a filing fee. It’s a pretty hassle-free process to register.